Binary

I bought this book for Avi and Akshna after reading some good reviews but not knowing exactly what story it was and not expecting a whole lot. But today Avi said he was a bit confused on how to write 8 as a binary. Akshna was standing there and she said open, closed, closed, closed. At first I didn’t get it but then I realized she was saying “1000”, which was correct. I asked a few more small numbers and she correctly converted them to binary as well. I was surprised and amazed. That’s when I realized that this book is teaching binary as well.

So before dinner, I gave them some more basics on binary representation and taught them how to convert larger numbers to binary as well. I would say it was totally worth getting this book and would highly recommend it for anyone wanting to get their kids started in CS.

